Holidays in term time

Information from The Welsh Government to parents and carers who are considering booking a holiday during term time

Does the school have the authority to allow term time absence for holidays?

Parents should not take their children out of school for a holiday without first obtaining the permission of the head teacher in advance. Under the 2010 Regulations, schools have a discretionary power to authorise up to 10 days’ absence during a school year for family holidays during term time if it is considered necessary.

Why is this decision made by the school?

Head teachers have access to all the necessary information to make an informed decision. A head teacher is able to consider individual circumstances on a case-by case basis. A number of things will be taken into account before reaching a decision, including the time of year, length of the holiday, the reason for the holiday, impact on learning, timing of exams or tests, family circumstances and the wishes of parents, as well as the overall attendance and attainment of the child.

For more information please click on this link Legislation.gov.uk

How to request a holiday

  • click here for the holiday request form (at least 2 weeks before the intended holiday)
  • That’s all you need to do – the form will automatically notify us of your request, we will only email you back if the holidays are NOT authorised

Once you have sent us your holiday request, we will only contact you if the holidays are unauthorised.

If you do not hear from us you can be sure that your holiday request has been authorised.

We will email you if your holiday request is unauthorised

Reasons for unauthorised holidays are:

  • You have requested more than 10 days holiday during the academic year
  • The pupil is in Year 2 to Year 6 – holidays are unauthorised during test week in May

TERM DATES 2021- 2022

 

AUTUMN TERM 2021

 

Staff Training Day – school closed Wednesday 1st September
School Opens Thursday 2nd September
School Closes (half term) Thursday 21st October
Staff Training Day – school closed Friday 22nd October
School Opens Monday 1st November
School Closes (Christmas) Wednesday 22nd December

 

SPRING TERM 2022

 

Staff training day – school closed Thursday 6th January
Staff Training day – school closed Friday 7th January
School Opens Monday 10th January
School Closes (half term) Friday 18th February
School Opens Monday 28th February
School closes (Easter) Friday 8th April

 

SUMMER TERM 2022

School Opens Monday 25th April
School Closed (May Day) Monday 2nd May
School Closed

* (in lieu of Jubilee Day)

Tuesday 3rd May
School Closes (half term) Thursday 26th May
Staff Training day – school closed Friday 27th May
Staff Training day** – school closed Monday 6th June
School Opens Tuesday 7th June
School Closes Wednesday 20th July

 

*School is closed on Tuesday 3rd May in lieu of the extra bank holiday for the Queen’s Jubilee

**There is 1 extra training day on Monday 6th June (linked to the implementation of the new curriculum for Wales)

 

Holidays and training days are subject to change