2020- 2021

 

AUTUMN TERM 2020

 

Preparation Day Tuesday 1st September
Preparation Day Wednesday 2nd September
Training Day Thursday 3rd September
Training Day Friday 4th September
School Opens Wednesday 7th September
School Closes (half term) Friday 23rd October
School Opens Monday 2nd November
School Closes (Christmas) Friday 18th December

 

SPRING TERM 2021

 

Training day Monday 4th January
School Opens Tuesday 5th January
School Closes (half term) Friday 12th February
School Opens Monday 22nd February
School closes (Easter) Friday 26th March

 

SUMMER TERM 2021

 

School Opens Monday 12th April
School Closed (May Day) Monday 3rd May
School Closes (half term) Friday 28th May
Training day Monday 7th June
School Opens Tuesday 8th June
School Closes Friday 16th July
Training day Monday 19th July
Training day Tuesday 20th July

 

Training Days and holidays are subject to change

 

 

 

Holidays in term time

Information from The Welsh Government to parents and carers who are considering booking a holiday during term time

Does the school have the authority to allow term time absence for holidays?

Parents should not take their children out of school for a holiday without first obtaining the permission of the head teacher in advance. Under the 2010 Regulations, schools have a discretionary power to authorise up to 10 days’ absence during a school year for family holidays during term time if it is considered necessary.

Why is this decision made by the school?

Head teachers have access to all the necessary information to make an informed decision. A head teacher is able to consider individual circumstances on a case-by case basis. A number of things will be taken into account before reaching a decision, including the time of year, length of the holiday, the reason for the holiday, impact on learning, timing of exams or tests, family circumstances and the wishes of parents, as well as the overall attendance and attainment of the child.

For more information please click on this link Legislation.gov.uk

How to request a holiday

 

  1. Click on this link to complete the Holiday Requests during term time form  (at least 2 weeks before the intended holiday)
  2. Email the form to:  gomail@hwbmaill.net

Please note we will only contact you if the holidays are unauthorised.  Reasons for unauthorised holidays are:

  • You have requested more than 10 days holiday during the academic year
  • The pupil is in Year 2 to Year 6 – holidays are unauthorised during test week in May