AMENDED SCHOOL HOLIDAY DATES AND TRAINING DAYS

2021- 2022

 

AUTUMN TERM 2021

Staff Training Day Wednesday 1st September
School Opens Thursday 2nd September
School Closes (half term) Thursday 21st October
Staff Training Day Friday 22nd October
School Opens Monday 1st November
School Closes (Christmas) Wednesday 22nd December

 

SPRING TERM 2022

Covid Planning Day (Welsh Gov) Thursday 6th January
Covid Planning Day (Welsh Gov) Friday 7th January
School Opens Monday 10th January
School Closes (half term) Friday 18th February
Staff Training Day Monday 28th February
School Opens Tuesday 1st March
School closes (Easter) Friday 8th April

 

SUMMER TERM 2022

School Opens Monday 25th April
School Closed (May Day) Monday 2nd May
School Closed

* (in lieu of Jubilee Day)

Tuesday 3rd May
School Closes (half term) Thursday 26th May
Staff Training day Friday 27th May
Staff Training day** Monday 6th June
School Opens Tuesday 7th June
School Closes Tuesday 19th July
Staff Training day Wednesday 20th July

 

*School is closed on Tuesday 3rd May in lieu of the extra bank holiday for the

Queen’s Jubilee

**There is 1 extra training day on Monday 6th June (linked to the implementation of the new curriculum for Wales)

 

Holidays and training days are subject to change

 

 


How to request a holiday

  • Please fill in the Holiday Request Form (at least 2 weeks before the intended holiday)
  • we do NOT contact you except to inform you if the holidays are unauthorised

  • the maximum amount of days you can request is 10 days during a school academic year (from September to July)
  • holidays are considered at the head teacher’s discretion (see Information from the Welsh Government below)

Reasons for unauthorised holidays are:

  • You have requested more than 10 days holiday during the academic year
  • The pupil is in Year 2 to Year 6 – holidays are unauthorised during National test week which is usually in May

Information from The Welsh Government to parents and carers who are considering booking a holiday during term time

Does the school have the authority to allow term time absence for holidays?

Parents should not take their children out of school for a holiday without first obtaining the permission of the head teacher in advance. Under the 2010 Regulations, schools have a discretionary power to authorise up to 10 days’ absence during a school year for family holidays during term time if it is considered necessary.

Why is this decision made by the school?

Head teachers have access to all the necessary information to make an informed decision. A head teacher is able to consider individual circumstances on a case-by case basis. A number of things will be taken into account before reaching a decision, including the time of year, length of the holiday, the reason for the holiday, impact on learning, timing of exams or tests, family circumstances and the wishes of parents, as well as the overall attendance and attainment of the child.

click here Legislation.gov.uk for more information from the Welsh Government about holidays in term time


click here For more information from Flintshire County Council about School Holidays and Training days